Rated 4.8/5 by parents & students

World Cup Shocker: Yobo, Odemwingie in Keshi’s 30-man Provisional List

The suspense surrounding Nigeria’s squad to the World Cup has finally ended as Super Eagles Head Coach, Stephen Keshi, last night named a provisional list of 30 players for Brazil 2014,after the list was ratified by the Technical Committee of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF).

Keshi said the provisional list will be forwarded to FIFA ahead of the May 13 deadline for submission, while the substantive 23-man squad that will represent Nigeria at the World Cup will be announced on June 2 during the team’s training tour of America.

National captain Joseph Yobo, Joel Obi and Osaze Odemwingie were restored to provide experience for the team after they were frozen out for long period, while Shola Ameobi, Ramon Azeez, Michael Babatunde, Uche Nwofor and Michael Uchebo were also on the provisional list.

Kunle Odunlami, Chigozie Agbim, Azubuike Egwueke and Daniel Akpeyi are the home based players that made the initial cut.
Villareal of Spain’s forward- Ikechukwu  Uche, Brown Ideye, Leon Balogun, Chinedu Obasi, Ezekiel Umoh, John Ogu and Fegor Ogude -are the major names deemed surplus to requirement.

The Provisional List:
GOALKEEPERS: Vincent Enyeama , Austin Ejide, Chigozie Agbim, Daniel Akpeyi

DEFENDERS: Joseph Yobo, Elderson Echiejile, Juwon Oshaniwa, Ambrose Efe, Godfrey Oboabona, Azubuike Egwuekwe,  Kenneth Omeruo and Kunle Odunlami

MIDFIELDERS: John Mikel Obi, Onazi Ogenyi, Ramon Azeez, Ejike Uzoenyi, Sunday Mba, Reuben Gabriel, Nosa Igiebor, Joel Obi and Micheal Uchebo

ATTACKERS: Ahmed Musa, Shola Ameobi, Victor Moses, Michael Babatunde, Uche Nwofor,  Nnamdi Oduamadi, Emmanuel Emenike, Osaze Odemwingie and Obinna Nsofor


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top