Cote d’Ivoire midfielder, Yaya Toure, was last night announced the African player of the Year 2013, at the Glo/CAF Awards held at the Eko Hotels in Lagos.

It’s a third straight African Player of the Year title for Manchester City player, who also won December’s BBC African Footballer of the Year award. Toure beat Nigeria’s Mikel Obi and his compatriot, Didier Drogba to the gong.


National Team of the Year: Super Eagles of Nigeria

Youth National Team of the Year: Golden Eaglets of Nigeria

Club of the Year: Al Ahly

Fair Play Awards: Nigeria Supporters Club

Coach of the Year: Stephen Keshi

Most Promising Talent: Kelechi Iheanacho

Referee of the Year: Haimoudi Djamel

CAF Legends – Late Bruno Metsu & Jose Mehdi Faria

African Player of the Year (Africa based): Mohamed Aboutreika

African Player of the Year: Yaya Toure

Platinum Award goes to President Goodluck Jonathan

Africa XI – Enyeama. Fathi. Benatia. Constant. Mikel. Yaya. Aboutreika. Pitroipa. Emenike. Gyan. Aubameyang. Coach: Keshi