EPL 2013 Team: John Obi Mikel Out, Yaya Toure In (See Full List)


The English Premier League on Thursday released their team of the year for 2013. The collation which was based on fans and their website followers’ votes did not list Mikel Obi of Chelsea but it was a good report for Yaya Toure of Manchester City and Cote d’Ivoire as he made the number.

Mikel and Yaya are the two major contenders for the 2013 African Footballer of the Year. The winner for the African most important individual award will be known next Thursday in a ceremony billed for Lagos. Last month the Ivorian won the BBC African player award beating Mikel, Victor Moses, Pierre Emerick-Aubameyang and Jonathan Pitroipa.

In the list made available on the official Twitter handle of the Premier League, Steven Gerrard, Aaron Ramsey and Michael Carrick were named for the midfield position along with Yaya. The attackers were expectedly Sergio Aguero and Luis Suarez. The defence line has Seamus Coleman, Phil Jagelka, Per Mertesacker and Leighton Baines. Everton’s Tim Howard was named as the goalkeeper of the team while Arsene Wenger was listed as the manager.

Premier League twitted, “The votes are in…Here’s the #BPL team of 2013 as voted by users of our website. Did your favourite player get in?” as they made public the list.

Arsenal’s Ramsey later posted, “Thanks everyone who voted me into the @premierleague team of 2013. Not a bad side.”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top