Sir Hugh Clifford was appointed Governor of Nigeria after Lord Fredrick Lugard. In 1922, Sir Clifford introduced the first formal constitution for the country. The main features of the constitution were:

  1. Introduction of the first elective principle in Nigeria and in West Africa. Similar elective principle was introduced in Gold Coast (Ghana) in 1925 and Sierra-Leone in 1924. Following the introduction of the elective principle in Nigeria, Africans were elected into the legislative council for the first time. Three from Lagos and one from Calabar. Electorate consisted of British subjects protected person with 100 pounds or N20 per annual income. The introduction of the elective principles also led to the formation of the first political party in Nigeria. In 1923 called the Nigerian National Democratic Party (NNDP) led by Late Herbert Macaulay.
  2. This constitution adopted in 1922 derived its name from the then governor of Nigeria, Sir Hugh Clifford who took over from Lord Lugard.
  3. The constitution introduced new legislative and executive councils.
  4. A legislative council was set up with 46 members out of which 27 were official members while 19 were unofficial members.
  5. There was an executive council composed mainly the officials.
  6. Laws for the North were made by Governor’s proclamation.
  7. There were no Africans in the Executive council
  8. Division of the North and South into provinces
  9. The Clifford constitution also established an Executive Council to advise the governor.
  10. The governor retained the power to legislate for Northern Nigeria.
  11. A single executive council for Nigeria was first created under this constitution. It was composed of 12 members, all of whom were Europeans