Mikel, Moses make shortlist for BBC African Footballer of the Year award


The British media outfit has announced candidates to win the prestigious individual trophy this year, with the Super Eagles duo making the cut.

Nigeria’s Mikel Obi and Victor Moses have been shortlisted for the 2013 BBC African footballer of the year award, with title-holder Yaya Toure, Gabonese star Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Burkina Faso forward Jonathan Pitroipa among the candidates to win the individual award.

Chelsea star Mikel tops the list following his superb form for the Super Eagles at the African Cup of Nations in South Africa and the Fifa Confederations Cup held in Brazil not forgetting his Europa League winning feat with his London club.

The winner will be decided by African football fans and the winner will be announced on Monday, December 2 in a live radio broadcast.

Pitroipa and Aubameyang are the first time nominees in the list voted for by 44 journalists across Africa.

The five-man list:

1. John Mikel Obi – Nigeria

2. Pierre-Emerick – Gabon

3. Victor Moses –  Nigeria

4. Jonathan Pitroipa – Burkina Faso

5. Yaya Toure  Ivory – Coast

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top