Mikel Obi, Victor Moses Make 2013 BBC African Footballer Of The Year Shortlist


Super Eagles duo of John Mikel Obi and Victor Moses, have made a five-man shortlist of nominees for the 2013 BBC African Footballer of the Year award, alongside current holder Yaya Toure, Borussia Dortmund’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Jonathan Pitroipa from Burkina Faso.


Mikel Obi makes the cut, following fine performances for the Super Eagles at the Africa Cup of Nations in South Africa this year and the FIFA Confederations Cup in Brazil. The midfielder was also an important squad member, as Chelsea won the Europa League.

The winner, will be decided after voting involving 44 journalists from across Africa on December 2.

The five-man list:

John Mikel Obi – Nigeria

Pierre-Emerick – Gabon

Victor Moses – Nigeria

Jonathan Pitroipa – Burkina Faso

Yaya Toure – Ivory Coast

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top