Reading Now – No more 4-year study visa for these countries (Nigeria Included)


No more 4-year study visa for these countries (Nigeria Included)

No more 4-year study visa for these countries (Nigeria Included)

The rule announced by the US Department of Homeland Security (DHS) states that Nigerian students in the US may not be allowed to stay in the nation for more than two years henceforth.

According to the DHS, Nigerians who intend to study in the United States (US) will henceforth not be allowed to stay there for up to four years based on the nation’s new proposed immigration policy.

On Thursday, September 24, international students from the countries listed below will get only a two-year visa to study in the nation.

The affected nations include:

Afghanistan, Benin, Bhutan, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo (DRC) Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Iran, Iraq, Kenya, and Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Liberia, Libya, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Moldova, Mongolia, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, North Korea, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Rwanda, Samoa, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Togo, Tonga, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu Uganda, Uzbekistan, Vietnam, Yemen, and Zambia.

The DHS disclosed that this new rule is meant to “encourage program compliance, reduce fraud, and enhance national security.” This proposed policy is based on the theory that it will be less difficult to trace security threats and monitor adherence.
The major reason the above countries were listed was that they have been termed “states sponsor of terrorism”. And also, because these countries have a high percentage of Visa Defaulter.