YOU ARE FIRED! President Jonathan Sacks Minister of Education, Prof. Ruqayyatu Rufa’i, 8 others

President Goodluck Jonathan’s administration has sacked nine serving ministers.

In a reshuffle that was carried out on Wednesday and announced to the ministers at the weekly Federal Executive Council meeting at the Presidential Villa, Abuja, Jonathan dropped six senior and three junior ministers.

They are:  the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Ambassador Olugbenga Ashiru; the Minister of Education, Prof. Ruggayat Ruf’ai; the Minister of National Planning, Samsudeen Usman; the Minister of Housing and Urban Development, Ama Pepple; the Minister of the Environment, Hajia Hadiza Mailafia; and the Minister of Science and Technology, Prof. Bassey Ewa.

The Minister of States affected were those of Defence, Erelu Olusola Obada, Agriculture, Alhaji Bukar Tijani; and Power, Alhaja Zainab Kuchi.

The development was confirmed to newsmen by the Special Adviser on Media to President Jonathan, Dr. Reuben Abati.

Speculations had been rife since the beginning of the year about a cabinet reshuffle and this had however been met with rebuttal each time.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top