Haiti is a Caribbean country that shares the island of Hispaniola with the Dominican Republic to its east. Though it’s still recovering from a 2010 earthquake, many of Haiti’s landmarks dating to the early 19th century remain intact.

Fast Facts about Haiti

1. Native Haitians were pre-Columbian Amerindians called Taíno, “the good people.” The Taíno named their land “Ayiti,” meaning “Land of Mountains”—a term that evolved into “Haiti.”

2. Haiti is the third largest country in the Caribbean, after the Dominican Republic and Cuba, which is the largest.

Related Article: 10 Interesting Country Facts (Pakistan)

3. The Haitian diet is made up of the local vegetables and fruits, along with some spicy meat dishes.

4. For 4 centuries, 15th -19th century, the world’s top 3 major super powers were in war with each other to have control of Haiti for its geographical position. Spain, France and England.

5. Haiti was the second country in the world to issue a Declaration of Independence, only 33 years after the United States of America.

6. Haiti is the only country in the world with Voodoo as an official religion.

7. The official languages are Creole and French.

Also Read: 10 Interesting Country Facts (Switzerland)

8. The national currency in Haiti is called Gourde.

9. Haiti is the first and only country in the history of mankind whose independence is the result of a successful slave rebellion.

10. The flag of Haiti is a bicolour flag featuring two horizontal bands coloured blue, and red, defaced by a white panel bearing the coat of arms. The coat of arms depicts a trophy of weapons ready to defend freedom and a royal palm for independence. The palm is topped by the Cap of Liberty.