Passnownow

Rated 4.8/5 by parents & students

How Can I Know Who Visited My Facebook Profile?

No matter what your reasons for wanting this information, the simple answer to the question, “How can I know who  visited my Facebook profile” is that you can’t. Your next question quite naturally is……

Why?

This is because Facebook does not provide a functionality that enables you to track who is viewing your profile. Facebook’s Help Centre goes on to specify that you can’t track any other elements of your profile either,like your photos or videos!

The reason that this functionality is not available is because Facebook has to respect the privacy of its users. If you can see who has been landing on your profile, those people have had their privacy breached.

Though, some third party applications say they can tell you exactly who has been visiting your profile page, but all of them have turned out to be scams. The fact is that there is no real way to track and provide this information to users.

Facebook strongly discourages this type of application, and clearly states that they will remove any program that claims to track visits.

Many of the creators of these fake applications are hoping to make a quick profit, either by advertisements or by collecting and selling the personal information of the people who use them. Users must agree to allow the application access to their profiles, where this information is then readily available for harvesting. Other applications are even more dangerous,and may contain viruses.

Privacy Settings – The Way Out

If you’re concerned that people may be getting information from your profile without your knowledge or consent, you can tighten up your privacy settings at any time. Just follow these simple steps:

  1. Sign in
  2. Click on the “Account” button on the top right of the page
  3. From there, click on “Privacy Settings”

You can set the privacy controls for every aspect of your account to three different access levels:

  • Everyone, meaning anyone can see it
  • Friends of Friends, meaning that the friends of your approved friends have access
  • Friends Only, meaning only those you have approved as friends have access

While it may be disappointing to learn that you can’t keep track of everyone who is visiting your Facebook profile, it can be reassuring to know that Facebook is limiting this functionality in order to preserve your privacy on the network.

Source: Lovetoknow

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top