07060545017, 07060545027

Problems of ECOWAS

Government – Economic Community of West African States {ECOWAS}

ECOWAS was formed on the 28th of May, 1975 in Lagos, Nigeria. It has 16 Independent nations of West Africa. Nigeria, under the leadership of General Yakubu Gowon and Togo under President Eyadema, initiated the formation of the sub-regional economic group. The community is made up of 5 Anglophone countries and 11 Francophone countries. Anglophone [...]

Classwork Exercise and Series (Geography- SS3): International Economic Cooperation Of West Africa

  Foundation of Economic Community of West Africa States (ECOWAS) The treaty called Lagos treaty formally establishing ECOWAS was signed by in May 28th, 1975 in Lagos by fifteen West Africa Heads of state. Guinea Bissau later joined to make up 16countries. However, the idea of establishing ECOWAS was conceived by the heads of State [...]